• Wed. Jul 24th, 2024

Ndokwa Vanguard

....we are out to educate, inform, sensitize & update

APC National chairman Abdullahi Adamu disowns list of principal officers announced by NASS leadership

Jul 4, 2023 #Politics

Fresh crisis appears to be brewing in the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC as the National Chairman of the party, Abdullahi Adamu has disowned the list of principal officers announced by the leadership of the two chambers of the National Assembly on Tuesday, July 4.

Adamu at a meeting of the party’s National Working Committee and Progressives Governors’ Forum in Abuja said the National Assembly breached protocol by announcing the principal officers without the knowledge of the party.

“You will get an update of the National Election in the national assembly sharing of powers particularly the leadership of the chambers. The election of the principal officers of the Senate by the Senate President and Deputy Senate President. The election of the speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives have been determined and announced and their responsibilities.

The remaining offices will be determined by the two chambers is yet to be done. I had a courtesy call on Saturday from the President of the Senate and his Deputy. The following which was Sunday, I received the visit by the Speaker and his Deputy Speaker coming to me for Sallah’s homage.

But, I am just hearing as a rumour now from the online media that there have been some announcements in the Senate and House of Representatives. The national headquarters of the party of the NWC has not given any such information or communicated about the choice of offices.

And until we formally resolve and communicate with them in writing which is the norm and practice, it is not our intention to break away from traditions. So whatever announcement is done either the President of the Senate, Deputy Senate President, Speaker or Deputy Speaker, is not from this secretariat.”

LIB had earlier reported that Senate President, Godswill Akpabio during plenary today July 4, announced Senator Opeyemi Bamidele from Ekiti State as Senate Leader, Senator Dave Umahi from Ebonyi State as Deputy Senate Leader, Senator Ali Ndume from Borno State as Chief Whip, and Senator Lola Ashiru from Kwara State as Deputy Chief Whip.

Akpabio also announced the names of minority principal officers. They are Senator Simon Davou (Plateau North – PDP, Minority Leader), Oyewunmi Olarere (Osun West – PDP, Deputy Minority Leader), Darlington Nwokeocha (Abia Central – LP, Minority Whip), Rufai Hanga (Kano Central – NNPP, Deputy Minority Whip).

In the same vein, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Tajudeen Abbas, announced Julius Ihonvbere (APC – Edo) as House Majority Leader, Halims Abdullahi (APC – Kogi) as Deputy Majority Leader, Bello Kumo (APC – Gombe) as Chief Whip, and Adewunmi Onanuga (APC – Ogun) as Deputy Chief Whip).

Share this story to friends
One thought on “APC National chairman Abdullahi Adamu disowns list of principal officers announced by NASS leadership”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *